The Hollywood Reporter: Byron Allen Unveils Inaugural theGrio Awards Honoring Tyler Perry, Dave Chappelle, Jennifer Hudson and More

Byron Allen’s Allen Media Group on Monday announced the launch of a new awards ceremony, theGrio Awards, with honorees set to include Tyler Perry, Dave Chappelle and Jennifer Hudson.

TheGrio Awards aim to celebrate luminaries from the worlds of film, music, comedy, television, sports, philanthropy, business, fashion, social justice, environmental justice and education, as well as cultural icons and innovators “whose many contributions positively impact America.”

The ceremony, which will be hosted by Sheryl Underwood and Taye Diggs, will take place Oct. 22 at the Beverly Hilton and will air Nov. 5 on TV stations around the country, as well as on theGrio Television Network and other Allen Media Group television and digital platforms. Allen Media Group purchased theGrio, an African American-focused news, lifestyle, sports and entertainment platform, in 2016.

Read the full article here.