VARIETY: Inaugural ‘The Grio Awards’ to Honor Tyler Perry, Jennifer Hudson, Dave Chapelle and More

Allen Media Group’s African American-focused news, lifestyle, sports and entertainment platform theGrio has announced the inaugural The Grio Awards. The black-tie event will take place at the Beverly Hilton on Saturday, October 22th with co-hosts comedian Sheryl Underwood and Taye Diggs.

The award show’s inaugural honorees are slated to attend in-person, including:

  • Tyler Perry – Icon Award
  • Norman Lear – Champion Award
  • Patti LaBelle – Music Icon Award
  • Kenan Thompson – Comedy Icon Award
  • Ben Crump – Justice Icon Award
  • Alena Analeigh McQuarter – Young Icon Award
  • Robert F. Smith – Philanthropy Award
  • Allyson Felix – Sports Icon Award
  • Don Peebles – Business Icon Award
  • Queen Latifah – Television Icon Award
  • Dave Chappelle – Cultural Icon Award
  • Jennifer Hudson – Trailblazer Icon Award

Read the full article here.